EASY BURN LAW
STEPS CODE REFERENCES

1 .SiI'AFFORD COUNTY
. BURN LAWS
/i

Stafford County Code: Chapter 12, Article V

RESEARCH

Find answers to when and how you should 4PM Burn Law: Code of Virginia §10.1-1142

be burning safely. L

-Is buring prohibited this time of year? 1R
-What can be burned? Virginia Air Pollution Control Board: (I
“Where can it be burned? Virginia Administrative Code 9VAC5-130 L) 'Y i
-What is the forecasted weather and wind ) "II | !
direction/speed? , INOONSER | 12

g :)F'“ A;Cajl before you burn.
S/ 0 1

-Do | have the tools to extinguish the fire?

-Do | have plenty of time to attend the fire

until it is extinguished? |

STAFFORD COUNTY
REPORT FIRE MARSHAL’S OFFICE

Call Statford County every time
before your burn: 540.658.4440 24-Hours: 540 658 4440

Office: 540.658.8648

R E MAI N info@staffordfirerescue.com

An adult must attend the fire at www.staffordfirerescue.com /fm

all times until it is extinguished. 1225 Courthouse Rd

Staftord, Virginia
RECALL

Call Stattord County again once your
fire is extinguished: 540.658.4440

FIRE & RESCUE
DEPARTMENT

940.698.4440




TYPES OF WA
BURNING (% ChENE

BURN LAWS? & ASE TG h g

The burning of garbage, retuse, construction debris,
tires, trash or other forms of solid or liquid waste is

Burn laws help to protect the prohibited at all times throughout Stattord County.

oublic health, safety, and welfare % S RECREATIONAL

by regulc:ﬁng open burning e CampFres bonfires, or other small, contained burning

“4PM” BURN LAW

“\) In Virginia between
February 15th and

April 30th each year,

e _ is permitted if the fuel consists only of seasoned firewood :
4 within the County to achieve . ® and burns for no more than 3 hours. Bonfires are to 24 Pt burlng b 4 Only
and maintain, to the greatest be no more than 5ft by 5ft and at least 50t from occur between the
_ _ structures or combushb|e materials. Campfires or b £ 4:00PM and
| extent Pm“:tlble a level of air warming fires are to be no more than 2ft by 3ft and OUurs or 4. an
=" quality that will provide comtor : idnight.
q litv that will o id fort at least 25ft from structures or combustible materials. 12:00 Mi dni ghf
Nl d h I Does NOT include grills, outdoor fireplaces, or other similar appliances V.
- an convienece while promoting used in accordance with manufacturer instructions and located at Rl
" economic and social deve|opmen’r least 15 feet from structures or combustible materials. L\
ST ) P -
el RESIDENTIAL
y "' "1 B Uncontained burning of on-site yard waste at a residence
J ’ 4 including brush, branches, grass trimmings or leaves CALL BEFORE YOU BURN

r’

W y 0 is permitted in Statford County subject to the following
+‘ ';' F I R Ew I S E conditions:
) 4‘¢' y Co M M U N ITI ES 1. The fire must bbe u.;'lllnlmum f::ff()j&;ijf(l)t}m u;\y
&, “TK “ -l' : . structure c-:-r cﬂm. u_sh ?muierlf:: an -EEjr rom
? Qg Mt an occupied building (it you wish to burn within 300
teet of an occupied building, you MUST have written

. 540-658-4440

Notification to the Stafford
County 24-hour Emergency

Communications Center

% Neighbors reducmg community

permission from those who occupy the building); AND is manditory for all open

.\ fire risk and hazards by fo||0wmg WL 2. The fire MUST be constantly attended by an aduli

= regulations, maintaining = atalltimes; AND
i 3. Burning MUST be conducted in such a fashion as

burning. This helps to inform
citizens of special burning

property, constructing defensible precautions, regulations,

to minimize any nuisance to neighbors.

LAND CLEARING "FRMir REQUIRE)), also assists Fire and Rescue

Open burning for land and site c|euring operations requires a person nel when responding
permit from the Fire Marshal’s Office and is prohibited anywhere } ¥

e, SNy within the Urban Service Area of Stafford County. Such burning -

space and making smart choices or.weather conditions. It

' when burning outdoors.
" T - e :\

1 >

to fires-and other emergency

is also strictly prohibited across Northern Virginia during the incidents.

WWW.FIREWISE.ORG i,

" 4 months of May through September each year.
-
- VILOATIONS OF THE BURN LAWS ARE

CLASS 1 MISDEMANORS

PUNISHABLE BY AFINEOF UP TO $2500 AND UP TO AYEAR IN JAIL.




